St. Cloud Lawyer with Three Decades of Experience Defends Assault Charges
In Minnesota, a rugged attorney fights for you
If you are arrested for assault, you may be charged with a felony or misdemeanor, depending on such factors as the severity of the victim’s injuries and whether a weapon was involved. In Minnesota, assault generally falls into one of four categories:
The Michalski Law Office is a time-tested criminal law firm that defends clients in St. Cloud, Rockville, Clearwater and the rest of Minnesota. If you are facing charges of assault, domestic violence or sexual assault, Michael J. Michalski, with offices in St. Cloud, Minneapolis, Edina and Zimmerman, can help.
St. Cloud, Minn. lawyer helps you navigate assault law
You may face a misdemeanor if you have no prior convictions and are charged with simple assault. In a simple assault, the assailant either
- Intended to make the victim fear injury or death, or
- Intentionally injured, or attempted to injure, the victim.
Recognizing aggravated assault incidents
You may face a felony if you are charged with aggravated assault. An aggravated assault occurs when:
Understanding the law of domestic violence assault
A domestic violence assault occurs when someone assaults a family or household member. When the defendant has prior convictions for harassment or domestic violence or a history of assault against the same victim, the charges rise to a felony or a gross misdemeanor, depending on the defendant’s record.
Sexual assault conviction carries heavy penalties
Minnesota law defines criminal sexual conduct as an unwanted, coerced or forced sexual act. Sexual assault can be either a gross misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity and circumstances of the crime. First- and second-degree sexual assault typically involves injury to the victim, the use or threatened use of violence or a weapon, or a victim who is very young. Sexual assault in the third, fourth and fifth degree involves situations in which the victim did not consent to the sexual conduct, was young or was incapable of giving voluntary consent.
A sexual assault conviction can mean 30 years in prison and a $40,000 fine. On top of that, all felony sex offenders in Minnesota are required to register with local authorities, who then post the offenders’ names and addresses on the Internet. This means a lifetime as a pariah. Michael J. Michalski, a veteran St. Cloud sexual assault attorney, will fight to make sure this doesn’t happen to you.
Contact any of our four Minnesota offices for a free initial consultation
No assault case is too complex for the Michalski Law Office. With four locations and flexible evening and weekend appointments, we are committed to accommodating our Rockville and Clearwater clients. Call the Michalski Law Office at 320-200-1108 or contact us online to schedule your free initial consultation. We understand you, and we can help.